Leighton Group

Group Alumni


Mr. Yanjun Yang, M.Sc., 2016 (now at Rice U.)

Dr. Xin Zhang, Ph.D., 2015 (now at Lam Research Corp.)

Dr. Palak Ambwani, Ph.D., 2015 (now at Intel)

Aisha Khaleel

Frazier Mork

Colin Rice

Dr. Shameek Bose, Ph.D., 2014 (now at Intel)

Mr. Dima Spivak, M.Sc., 2014 (now at Cloudera)

Dr. Mike Erickson, Ph.D., 2013 (now at Intel)

Ms. Melissa Haugen

Mr. Tobias Gulden, M.Sc., 2012 (now at UMN, Physics)

Prof. Mike Manno, Ph.D., 2010 (now faculty at UMN, CEMS)

Dr. Manish Sharma, Ph.D., 2010 (now at Dow Chemical)

Mr. Abe Spinelli, M.Sc., 2009 (now at 3M)

Dr. Chunyong He, Ph.D., 2009 (now at Intel)

Prof. Michael Lund, Ph.D., 2006 (now faculty at Bemidji State University)

Dr. Jing Wu, Ph.D., 2006 (now at Western Digital)

Prof. Lan Wang, Ph.D., 2006 (now faculty at RMIT, Melbourne, Australia);


Dr. Vina Faramarzi

Prof. Liam O'Brien (now faculty at University of Liverpool, UK)

Dr. Sri Polisetty (now at Trans-Tech Inc.)

Dr. Danny Phelan (now staff member at Argonne National Laboratory)

Dr. Kanwal Bhatti (now at GE)

Prof. Shun Wang (now faculty at Shanghai Jiao Tong University)

Prof. Mike Manno (now faculty at UMN)

Prof. Andrew Baruth (now faculty at Creighton University, Nebraska)

Prof. Sami El-Khatib (now faculty at American University of Sharjah)

Dr. Ruifang Wang

Dr. Maria Torija (now at NVE Inc., Eden Prairie, MN)

Dr. Jeff Parker (now at Gillette)

Current Group Members and PostdocsLeighton Group 2017


Prof. Mike Manno

Prof. Bruce Bolon



Dr. Eric McCalla

Dr. Joe Batley


Graduate Students

Mr. Jeff Walter (coadvised with Prof. Dan Frisbie)

Mr. Koustav Ganguly (coadvised with Prof. Bharat Jalan)

Mr. Justin Watts (coadvised with Prof. Paul Crowell)

Ms. Helin Wang (coadvised with Prof. Dan Frisbie)

Mr. Bryan Voigt (coadvised with Prof. Eray Aydil)

Mr. Alan Albrecht

Mr. Will Postiglione

Mr. John Dewey

Mr. Linmin Wang (coadvised with Prof. Eray Aydil)

Mr. Vipul Chaturvedi


Undergraduate Research Students

Mr. Guy Cassuto

Mr. Kyle Wagner 

Ms. Lindsey Borgeson

Mr. Steven Bourke

Mr. Sharacol Marcellino

Mr. Benjamin Siers

Mr. Jared Hoch

Mr. William Moore

Mr. Joey Gotchnik

Mr. Hudson Shih